Exposure Logging

In the month of May, Apple along with Google, introduced new features to their devices in order to help curb the spread of COVID-19.

To begin, both tech giants agreed to collaborate on such a project back in April. But, in Apple’s May update for the iPhone, the COVID-19 ‘Exposure Logging’ feature debuted.

Many iPhone and Android users alike heard of such a feature, but still have many questions and concerns surrounding the update. 

In this article, CPG is taking a look at the Exposure Logging feature on the iPhone. We will show you where to find it, how it works, and everything in between. Let’s get started. 

 

What is the Exposure Logging Feature?

Diving right in, the exposure logging feature became a way that Apple and Google believe they can aid in curbing the spread of COVID-19. Further, the feature connects with another application in order to alert the device owner when they come into close contact with someone exhibiting COVID-19 symptoms or infection.

The idea here is that once the user receives an alert, they are then able to avoid those infected with COVID-19, and protect themselves and others. 

This idea seems all and well. But, many cell phone users exhibit concerns over being tracked by the tech giant services. So, how exactly does this feature work?

 

How does this feature work?

Continuing on, the exposure logging feature can be found on any Apple device with the recent IOS 13.5 update. To find the feature, go to Settings > Privacy > Health. The feature is titled, COVID-19 Exposure Logging. 

 

 

One may notice that the feature is automatically turned off. The user has the choice on whether or not they would like to use this feature. 

Further, the user cannot just enable the feature. In order to actually use the feature, users need an authorized active app that is designed to work with the exposure logging. 

This could include local government or authorized health organization applications created for your specific area or region. Some areas may not even have an app designed to work with this feature.

So, to quell any concern that this feature is automatically tracking users, it is not. 

 

Enabling Logging

If the user chooses to enable the feature with the authorized application, this is how it will all work. 

The application will regularly send out updates to those near you regarding COVID-19 exposure. The service is able to do this because device bluetooth capabilities will be in use in order to communicate with the log and other users. 

Continuing, the service broadcasts a type of beacon to those using the app in regard to exposure. You as well as others will be able to view a log of verified log of exposures. 

Although, the feature will only alert you if someone is exposed in your area. This is followed by a “next steps” feature for the user.

 

To Download or not to Download

Ah, the ultimate question. Is this something worth downloading? That question is entirely up to the user. Many concerns stem from tracking and bluetooth connectivity. Also, this feature is relatively new and most likely hasn’t been around that long. 

Could there be issues with exposure logging? Sure. Is there risk in leaving bluetooth enabled all the time? Of course. So, once again, the choice comes down to the user. 

Hopefully, throughout this article, readers are able to gather information and make an educated decision regarding the use of exposure logging. The rest is up to you!

 

By Taylor Ritchey